Digital Tracts

Episodes of Salvation


GRACIOUSNESS

Many times, when we think of Grace or Graciousness, we see it as one of those supreme qualities of God to us -but it’s also a quality of God in us!

The most popular definition of Grace is an unmerited favour, a favour not deserved and many times a contrasting (re)action to our actions. But yet God shows us kindness and love nonetheless: we spit at Him – He kisses us, we ignore Him – He comes closer, we are faithless -He remains faithful.

But it’s not an attribute reserved only for the LORD, each believer is called to live a gracious life: to show this same unmerited favour to others. Nothing makes a person more beautiful than a gracious spirit.

Opportunities for graciousness often come in the midst of irritation. If I send you flowers and you reciprocate by sending me chocolates, you’re not being gracious -you may be generous or kind but that’s not graciousness. To be gracious implies I don’t deserve it and often implies I deserve retribution. So if I ridicule you publicly and your response is to still send me those chocolates -you are at that moment being gracious; for you have treated me better than I deserve.

A gracious person is one who responds hurt/anger/irritation with utmost kindness in heart and act. If you shout at someone who shouts at you, if you kick back when you are kicked, if you snap back at snapping situations, you are yet to learn the self-mortifying virtue of graciousness.

The power of graciousness is so incredible, for it is one of the few virtues that can cause an immediate change in the heart of the offender. When I know I have done you wrong, and I know you are justified to hit back at me, and instead of your backlash -I hear soft words of kindness, I see you helping me despite my hurting you, at that moment my defences are broken, and even if I don’t admit it: my life is touched by your love.



One response to “GRACIOUSNESS”

Leave a comment

About

In the digital world of today, the need to reach all men still persists and reach them we must even digitally.

This weekly publication is designed to equip believers with Spirit-filled, Scripture-founded materials written briefly and directly. It’s primal purpose is reaching our world with this same gospel and edifying the body of Christ

The materials are copyright free and may be duplicated and shared widely without authorization or alteration.

Each article has a picture format for easy download and sharing. Feature requests/inquiries/questions can be made by sending a mail.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started